Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Embassy News

New American Embassy in the New Nation of South Sudan

July 12, 2011
Head of U.S. Delegation, Ambassador Susan Rice, hosts inauguration and ribbon cutting ceremony

Head of U.S. Delegation, Ambassador Susan Rice, hosts inauguration and ribbon cutting ceremony

Tuesday, July 12, 2011: At an official ribbon cutting ceremony on July 9 in Juba, South Sudan, U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Susan Rice officially transformed the U.S. Consulate General into the United States Embassy in the new Republic of South Sudan. The U.S. government's presence in South Sudan dates back to the seventies. After the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement in 2005, the U.S. government established a consulate in Juba to reinforce its partnership with the South Sudanese people.

"What a great day to turn a consulate into an embassy. To all of our Sudanese sisters and brothers, congratulations. What a remarkable day and it is so wonderful that you are here to celebrate with us. Thank you for all you are doing every day to build your new nation. It is yours, but we will be here as always, as partners. It is your leadership and responsibility that has brought your dream to fruition," announced Ambassador Rice.

"This is a wonderful day for all of us who have tried to help the people of South Sudan realize their dream of full independence. It is a wonderful day for all the Americans who have labored so hard over so many years, carrying our diplomacy in support of what has happened over the last six years. We look at this as a joyous occasion," said State Department Assistant Secretary for African Affairs Johnnie Carson.

Ambassador Rice and Assistant Secretary Carson were joined at the July 9 ceremony by Ambassador R. Barrie Walkley, Charge d'Affaires of U.S. Embassy Juba; Retired General Colin Powell, Former Secretary of State; U.S. Representative from New Jersey and Ranking Member of House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on Africa and Global Health Donald M. Payne; Princeton Lyman, U.S. Special Envoy to Sudan, and other members of the U.S. Delegation sent to represent President Obama's deep commitment to the continued assistance and support of the new Republic of South Sudan.